

P.O.Box 160 Avoca, Arkansas 72711

AVOCA PLANNING COMMISSION BY-LAWS

MEMBERSHIP & ORGANIZATION

1. The Planning Commission shall consist of 5 members appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Town Council. The members should be qualified by knowledge or experience to act upon matters pertaining to the physical, social and economic development of the Town.

2. The Commission shall elect a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Secretary annually at the first regular meeting in the month of the year.

3. Vacancies in the office shall be filled by appointment by the Mayor and approved by the Town Council.

4. The Chairman shall preside at all meetings and public hearing of the Commission; shall decide all points of order or procedure; and shall have the duties normally conferred by <u>Roberts Rule of Order</u>.

MEETINGS

1. The regular meetings of the Planning Commission shall be held on the third Tuesday of the month. All regularly scheduled meetings shall be held at 6:30 PM, in the Council Chambers at Town Hall. In the event of conflict with holidays or other events, the time and date of said meeting may be changed. Meetings may also be canceled by the Chairman, due to lack of business except mandatory meeting required by law.

2. Each session of the Planning Commission shall be a public meeting.

3. Public hearings shall be held on all proposed plans, ordinances and regulations, including amendments thereto. Notice of public hearings shall be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the Town, at least one (1) time, fifteen (15) days prior to the hearing. Following the public hearing, proposed plans may be adopted and proposed ordinances and regulations may be recommended as presented or in modified form by an affirmative vote of a majority of the authorized membership of the Commission.

4. A quorum shall consist of three (3) members. The Chairman shall have full voting status. No meeting shall be held for the transaction of any business if a quorum is not present.

5. Conflict of Interest: Each member of the Planning Commission shall avoid conflicts of interest.

6. No change shall be made to the By-Laws of the Planning Commission, except by affirmative vote of a majority of the authorized membership of the Commission.

7. Order of Business: Regular session of the Planning Commission shall proceed under the following pattern which shall be written in the form of an agenda distributed to Planning Members prior to the meeting.

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Moment of Silence
- 3. Public Forum
- 4. Call to Order
- 5. Roll Call
- 6. Declaration of Quorum
- 7. Approval of Agenda
- 8. Approval of minutes
- 9. Old Business
- 10. New Business
- 11. Announcements
- 12. Adjournment

EMPLOYEES

- 1. The Zoning Official and the Recorder-Treasurer shall serve as staff for the Commission.
- 2. The Mayor shall serve as an Exofacial status for the Commission.

COMMITTEES

1. The Chairman may appoint such committees as deemed advisable to expedite the regular administration of planning regulations, ordinances and plans, etc., adopted by the Commission and shall assign each committee specific duties or functions.

REQUIRED SIGNATURES

1. The Chairman and Secretary of the Planning commission shall affix their signatures to all plans, recommendations of ordinances and other legal documents approved by the Planning Commission.

2. The date of approval shall be placed on all plans, ordinances and legal documents approved by the Planning Commission.

RECORDS

1. The Secretary of the Planning Commission, in cooperation the Town Recorder-Treasurer, shall be responsible for the maintenance of the files of all studies, plans, reports, documents, recommendation and minutes of all meetings, including public hearings.

2. All records of the Planning Commission shall be public record.

THESE REVISED BY-LAWS ARE ADOPTED THIS 20TH DAY OF AUGUST 2019.

Nanette Barnes, Recorder/Treasurer